Weekly Original: ‘Invasion of the Body Snatchers’ Re-Scored

This week I made my first film score.  I’ve always wanted to make soundtracks, in additional to straightforward songwriting.  It was a fun, painstaking exercise, but it surely won’t be my last undertaking.  I decided to write an original score to a muted excerpt from the black and white 1956 horror classic  and anti-McCarthyistic call-to-arms Invasion of the Body Snatchers.  It’s always been one of my favorite movies, and I decided to–without having watched the movie for a number of years–re-score the movie as if I’d never seen/heard it as it was originally intended.  It was a vanity project for me, but who knows, maybe it’ll get a few odd thumbs up.  Without further ado, here’s my original, sonic reimagining.

Video re-posted on Vimeo (we’ll see how long that lasts):

Invasion of the Body Snatchers–Re-scored from Mo R. Bid on Vimeo.

(Note: video content owned by Lionsgate, Invasion of the Body Snatchers was directed originally by Don Siegel.  The only thing I claim absolute original ownership of is the audio.  Meant only as an expression of creativity, i.e. non-profit.)

Leave a Reply

